What Are Satanists Afraid Of?

It’s well established in all forms of Satanism that Satan, whether interpreted as a literal deity or an archetype worth emulating, represents a healthy skepticism and independence from dogmatic thought. Then why are some Satanists so adverse to this skepticism that they supposedly support? …

LaVeyan, or Modern Satanists are not immune to this behavior. When John Allee published his bit on various Anton LaVey legends , Satanists came out of the woodwork to defend the CoS founder despite Allee’s extensive sources. Granted, he should have provided links to all of these sources but the information is groundbreaking. ASL fanatics fervently dismiss that article as hogwash but much of LaVey’s background could be checked by anyone via public records as listed on Allee’s article. Nonetheless, some LaVey fanboys don’t wish his reputation to be tarnished so they ignore any responsibility they have to find out the truth. In the Satanic Bible itself has many lines expressing contempt for “falsehoods” and lies. The most prominent one, to me, is in the second chapter of the Book Of Satan which states:

“Whatever alleged ‘truth’ is proven by results to be but an empty fiction, let it be unceremoniously flung into the outer darkness, among the dead gods, dead empires, dead philosophies, and other useless lumber and wreckage!”

With this being said, why isn’t this enforced in regards to LaVey’s fabricated background? Perhaps idol-worship? Maybe they believe that it discredits the Church Of Satan. If that’s the case then I can understand their reasoning albeit I don’t agree with it. I don’t want to assume that all Modern Satanists are like this. Most probably don’t care, seeing that a great deal of Modern Satanists that I’m aware of are rather simply Hedonists. My point is that it’s unusual that this exists even in this particular version of Satanism. Nonetheless, it amuses me insofar as this behavior is already rampant in Christianity et al.

No matter how many people do this in Modern Satanism, my main concern are these fanatical – I jokingly call them Evangelical – Theistic Satanists who revere Satan as a literal deity yet cling to various remarkable claims about who/what Satan is or came from. As Carl Sagan once said : “Remarkable claims require remarkable evidence.”

In my searching for answers, I go straight to the source. I go into groups on Facebook and elsewhere to ask them if they have any proof of their claims. The first thing they tell me is to look at the supposed evidence, like similarities between cultures and different gods, and other conspiracy theories. When I tell them that such assumptions are not credible they tell me to “ask Satan Himself”.

I have a huge problem with this and I’ll make an example out of the Bible. When some one receives “divine inspiration”, assuming it is actually from a god and the person isn’t wacko, they interpret this with their own biases and morality through which they see the world. Hence all of the things in the Bible that we renounce today, death by stoning being one. What I’m trying to say is that people can be idiotic, and they’ll make that known in their interpretation of supernatural phenomenon. Anything which is supposed to be a direct word from any god or spirit should be taken with a large grain of salt. Besides, if information is from a “god” then I’d expect it to be factually correct.

After being referred to Satan, I state that I want academic and scientific evidence and that this is possible to attain. Here is where they get hostile. I’ve even been accused of insulting their beliefs by questioning Satan. How do Satanists get off on saying something like this? How do they reconcile this with Satan the adversary, the one who, according to many, rebelled against a tyrannical Jehova to bring wisdom and awareness to humanity? What are these Satanists afraid of?

It seems that even Satanism is riddled with religious fundamentalists. My main concern is if anything can be done about it. I’ve been told that it’s useless, but I have to try for reasons of conscience.

There’s a saying I’ve adapted from Newton’s third law of motion : “When you push at some one or a relationship, it pushes back with equal or greater force.” So, as it happens, these fundamentalists are as stubborn as ever. My quest continues.

This entry was posted in LaVeyan Satanism, Literature, Mythology, Philosophy, Satan, Theistic Satanism and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What Are Satanists Afraid Of?

  1. Nighthavk says:

    This is one of the reasons I’ve stopped identifying myself as a Satanist. I’ve felt the idea -Satanism as a religion- is as oxymoronic as an anarchist organisation. Far too often I’ve realized that people were leaving one set of dogma for another – one which the symbolism and principles of it I was close with, but still, they were dogmatizing it and not using it as a tool as “Self Responsible Satanists” should do.

    It’s just the basic human psyche. People have always been willing to take the easiest path out, which creates these religious fundamentalists, Satanist or otherwise.

    • chaosgarden says:

      I’m not sure Satanism is anarchist. Perhaps LaVey presented some anarchist views in the Satanic Bible, but it comes off to me as largely Capitalist with the whole Ayn Rand “survival of the fittest” spiel. I honestly don’t think the CoS cares much about the intelligence of their members, just as long as they keep paying and they get publicity.
      In any case, even the self improvement material in TSB isn’t worth using. I’ve read many better self improvement books.
      I believe what makes me a Satanist (aside from Satan being in my pantheon) is my independence, drive, and willingness to explore outside of my comfort zone, to venture out into the darkness and recognize it’s worth. Without dark, there can be no light… and all that motivational stuff.
      I don’t think it’s so much that they take the easiest path out. People want something larger than themselves to be passionate about, and to fulfill their need for validation and safety. Just like traditionally religious people, when you try to shake them off of it they hold on tighter. That’s the human psyche alright.

  2. “After being referred to Satan, I state that I want academic and scientific evidence and that this is possible to attain. Here is where they get hostile. I’ve even been accused of insulting their beliefs by questioning Satan. How do Satanists get off on saying something like this? How do they reconcile this with Satan the adversary, the one who, according to many, rebelled against a tyrannical Jehova to bring wisdom and awareness to humanity? What are these Satanists afraid of?”

    I’ve been covering Theistic Satanism on my radio show since January of this year. The idea is to interview as many Satanists possible (that aren’t completely insane) that both identify as Theistic and are willing to offer their unique perspectives and beliefs regarding ‘Satan’. When asked the question: Who or What is Satan? It’s so diverse that any semblance of consensus is pretty much lost. And so, this leaves me to conclude that some of these ‘easily offended’ Satanists should just stop claiming that ALL Theistic Satanists believe this or that. It remains highly individual.

    One of the most rejected ideas is that Theistic Satanists are *not* getting their Satan from the Bible. Ok? So then from where? And why ‘Satan’ in name??? Then there goes the ‘fight’ rather than discussion. Honestly, I think these Satanists are afraid of being revealed to be either parroting the ideas of others, or passing off bullsmack vs. personal Gnosis and/or admitting that this is what they’ve been taught.

    The ‘origin’ of Satan can be argued until the end of time. The thing is, linguistically speaking there is a point of origin of the term. What it actually meant then to now certainly gets lost in translation.

    By the time I personally discovered the personal treatise of LaVey I had been studying the origins of Devils, Satan and Lucifer because my family certainly liked to use it a whole lot but weren’t really keen on explaining to me what they were. Based on all the threats I received in childhood, I could only conclude it was much like the dark specter that would sweep you away to a scary place where you would be punished for misbehaving. What I discovered in my studies was that nearly every culture across the world had an antithesis, but even then… This wasn’t quite what I understood these things to be.

    Local Devils are found all over the world, Satan was sort of a job description, and Lucifer(i) was mostly found in old Greek poetry. So you can imagine my skepticism as a child. I never really found these adults around me to be credible. Especially after passing off things like the Tooth fairy, Easter Bunny and Santa as ‘real beings’. LaVey just sort of re-emphasized to me that these cultural mores in the U.S. were seeded and could be traced back to their origins.

    I wasn’t afraid to question, but I learned rather quickly that just because you have questions it doesn’t mean you deserve answers. I’m from an Italian family, asking too many questions is being a ‘busy body’ and questioning your ‘elders’ was disrespectful. And if you pushed the issue too far, it was usually met with a smack across the mouth. So I learned on my own to study in private and keep my questions to myself. I fell in love with knowledge as a child, and that romance continues to this day.

    Some fear stems from being asked too many questions and not having the answers…I say.

    • chaosgarden says:

      Fair enough, but my point was mainly to point out that one should not be afraid to tackle the unknown. Thank you for the thoughtful comment!

      • Allow me to clarify. That portion was understood. I think perhaps what might not be taken into consideration, is where that fear stems from. I shared my own thoughts, to convey that perhaps some fear was nurtured. I’ve encountered many Satanists throughout my life, and many have been spurned for tapping the unknown so many times, that it attributes to their personal programming.

        For me, I got myself emancipated and left that ‘family’ of mine, but some families are not dysfunctional and abusive as mine was. Some families nurture fear, and how children grow up to learn and explore. Fear of the unknown may stem from a pathology found in upbringing and cultural mores. I think its easier to say well people ‘should or should not’ do this or that, but I think that until you pin-point where this fear came from you can then address willingness, and capability.

        Does that make more sense?

      • chaosgarden says:

        Yes, that does make a bit more sense. It’s just surprising that even Satanists are prone to this behavior, but we are all human.

  3. Pingback: Fear | SIN JONES

Leave a Reply

